any where you want.

indexarchivesnotesprofileringsdesigndiaryland


diaryland's popular templates
(2001-04-07) 5:01 p.m.

I was browsing through Diaryland diaries again. Most are not the default Diaryland templates.. and I realized there are a lot of popular styles.

I'm going to link lots of example diaries. This isn't meant to offend, I promise.

Style number one: One of those backgrounds on the left (usually, but could be the opposite way), with bg properties="fixed", while text is on the right. It looks good, but just not as well in Netscape with doesn't support that bg properties thing. A plus is a header, but most don't put that. (But, here's one of a kind of this type: Angelcake)

Style number two: Tables! But one most popular one (at least what I find) is the simple table with multiple rows as opposed to columns, with separate borders for each (td). I have to admit; they look good.. no wonder they're used so much. The strong attraction is really the header image. (Yes, Jenai, or Iota)

Style number three: A simple image on the top and then text directly under that. Usually, the width of the text is quite slim, which makes it quite easier to read. It's nice and clean. (Like, Cravings)

Style number four: Blog-style! At least, that's what I call it. There'll be a header image with colspan=2 over a column of two. One side (usually on the right) would be the text, and the other would be links, navigation, and everything else. There is a lot of variation to this. The most sophisticated version is half of the image would be in column and the other in the colspan... work done by a image slicer. Either that, or just simple two-column types, as derived from default Diaryland templates.(Examples? Katrina. Or Squibnocket)

So that's my four Diaryland templates stereotypes... which is just my personal opinion, of course. Most are in the style number four though. Me? Well, mine's really just a table layout.. just pure rows although people can't really tell because mine's borderless. I aspire to be like style number four though. Columns. They're very attractive to me. And separate (td) designs for each text box.

I realized that this diary has gone through 6 layouts.. NOT including the default Diaryland one which I started out with. Then it was #1 - td borders with blue, #2 - pink Natalie Portman with two columns, #3 blue Natalie Portman with sliced images, with two columns, #4 - Tori Amos brownish, with rows only, #5 - letters header on blue background with rows only, #6 - this one!

It's almost as if I change the layout every month. My revolution around time. I only change it frequently because Diaryland layouts are so much easier to change. Only two pages... as opposed to a real website.

My favorite? Possibly the Tori Amos one. Because it had unique colors.. and maybe just the overall uniqueness. I haven't seen anyone yet who has a layout that nearly resembles that one. Well, maybe the structure, but not the color or the images. I specifically turned the image 90 degrees to emphathize that fact. How about this one? I like this layout a bit, but it's just not the same. Not unique. I feel like a little child playing around.

Another hint that it is going to change. But I'm lazy so don't count on it. Lazy. Does that overcome my urges? Unfortunately, yes. Sometimes. When would it not be a some time and be an all time? Blech. Tell me.

previous & next

from yawen.