any where you want.

indexarchivesnotesprofileringsdesigndiaryland


the case of imaginary memory
(2001-04-27) 8:52 p.m.

Today has been the most strenuous day of the whole week of testing. Five hours. I wish that I was smart enough so I wouldn't have to take it in the first place. Be in Precalc instead of the awful class I am in. But I'm still flunking so that's not so great.

150 hours (oops, I meant minutes) on the Algebra 2 part ALONE. That means.. 2 hours and a half. And I had already forgotten the little Algebra 2 I learned last semester. What made me mad was that they (the math teachers) decided to hold off teaching logrithms.. so we never LEARNED it. Dammit. I almost WISHED that they tested some Trig. Ha ha.. but at least we learned the material.

Then the other section, Chemistry took around 90 minutes. I knew that I supposedly had some kind of advantage because I am in Chemistry Honors.. because we are all taking the same test as the people in (regular)Chemistry. But, still, I do not know anything because of my stupid teacher. Besides. I do NOT want to think. I just mainly guessed because after two hours, my brain had evaporated.

What are they doing to us poor little creatures? But it's okay. The principal "bribed" us by giving us all these free "treats", supposedly "rewarding" us for our hard work. Heh. Like, today we got chips.. not those 25cents ones.. but actually those more expensive ones. I think that they're the 99cents ones. And on Monday, we had donuts & orange juice.

I was so out of my mind that I started to do an Algebra problem for FUN. It was because I was curious what the answer to the problem was (even though it didn't ask to solve it), and so I just tried solving it anyway. Then, I was like, AHHH. WHAT am I DOING? Ugh.

I hate this. Just when we come back from an one week vacation, we have all these testing. At least it's over with.. even though I did do so poorly..

But it provokes interesting thoughts :) I've never seen so much of this side of me. I guess when I'm thoughtless, I'm always like this.

It started out when R asked me if I was going to the dance. I automatically said no because 1) I didn't know about it because I was so clueless. 2) I hate dances anyway. 3) I have lost all interest. 4) My mind is still wrapped up about the whole testing thing, and I am not in the mood to dance. So anyway, R asks, "What, do you like anyone?"

I laughed. Not because it was such a funny question itself, but how ancient the question was to me. It seemed like a question that's only asked in junior high. "Do you like anyone?" Or just the mention of "crushes". Not that I've completely grown up and don't have crushes.. but now, people often refrain from asking that. But R just asked me so innocently, and I said "No" so sweetly, while trying to stop myself from laughing so loudly so I wouldn't disturb others.

Then R said something, and I thought she said, "You've never liked anyone in the past 2 years?" And so I was like, "WHAT?" So she corrected herself.. and then I started talking about those memories in 8th grade.. those boy-crazy years we all know. Then I say that they could be "imaginary" memories.. you know, the square root of a negative memory. (Hint: Imaginary numbers are the square root of a negative number.. haha)

But then, I rationalized and said that well, two imaginary memories would become a REAL memory, right? The only problem is that we have to MULTIPLY them, not add or anything. So I thought: hmm, what's the difference between adding and multiplying them? I say: 1+1=2, and yet 1X1=1. So we need to do something about those imaginary memories to make it just ONE to make it real.

Then I realized that it'd turn out to be a NEGATIVE real memory so it made me sad. Why couldn't it be positive? I guess if I had one negative & one positive imaginary memory, it'd work out to be one POSITIVE real memory..

You see, that's how my brain is infested with ALGEBRA. Ugh. But imaginary numbers are fun, aren't they? Ha ha. Especially when there's these analogies.. anyway.

I better go now before I develop another weird math-related memory thing. I was crazy, okay? We were all bored, and test-stressed. I'm going to sleep or something.

previous & next

from yawen.