any where you want.

indexarchivesnotesprofileringsdesigndiaryland


backwards in mexico
(2001-05-27) 11:15 p.m.

I am finally back home in beautiful California... Even the air smells nicer than that stench that I've almost gotten used to. (shudders)

I still can't believe that I'm back. How the places have changed. I was still in Mexico this morning... looking around in these rows of small stands selling things and such.. I was with my dad, and neither of us knew how to speak Spanish. So he made a writing motion, and the women handed him a notebook and a pen to write. He wrote a dollar sign and a question mark next to it. Ha ha. It's kind of disconcerting. I mean, Tijuana was so close to the international border.. yet so little know how to speak English.

But I have grown to love these people. They are different. But they are harmless. This is such a poor country.. and its just how it is. But I would never want to live here. It's.. just scary. I am not accustomed to these messes.. and the smell. The language problem was a small thing compared to others..

I just realized how all these cities in California have Spanish names. San Francisco, San Jose (where I live), Los Angeles, San Diego.. hmm. Even my own mother have a Spanish name. Hmm. Anyway. I felt like copy and pasting here since I'm about to fall asleep on the keyboard here. It's from the We Blog..

Oh my. I'm SO glad to be back... Even though I've only been gone for like TWO days, it feels like forever..

I'm glad that I can still type. I've been stuck in a car for way too long. Like today, I think I've spent around eight hours in the car. Either sleeping, or driving. And I'm still sleepy.

On Friday night, we slept in a Los Angeles hotel (kind of near Anaheim.. DISNEYLAND) because we couldn't get to San Diego before midnight = So we never really got into San Diego until the next day.. but by then, we had to rush into Mexico.. and that took hours. I drove for almost 100 miles before then.

Okay.. dinner time. I'll just have to continue this later.. but I'm soooo glad to see home.. see beautiful California =D

Yes, I'm aware that it's almost 10pm, and I had just finished my dinner.. oh well. That's how they eat in Mexico. Lunch at 3pm, and dinner at 10pm. =

Anyway. Back to my rantings. So on Saturday, we left LA, and headed toward Mexico. We had to wait so loooong to get through the international borders. I saw this big yellow caution sign that drew a picture of a mother with two children crossing. I thought that was funny. It warns that there might be families crossing the freeway.. those people from Mexico sometimes try to escape to US.

Mexico=scary. Very scary. I didn't DARE to drive there. They drive.. well, fast. They don't let you cut in or anything. There isn't a lot of traffic lights either. There is a lot of "alto" signs (stop signs), and most don't even stop for it.. All the gas stations are called "Pemex", and all the huge supermarkets are called, "Callimax". At least, that's how it is in Tijuana, where we mostly stayed in.

And, oh yes. There is Taco stands on every corner. People juggling with fire on the streets in hope of "donations". People selling food. People selling things. People.. well, everywhere trying to earn money. Its kind of scary. But they're just not dangerous.

I didn't want to feel like race matters, but I felt so self-conscious because it seemed like we were the only people that weren't Mexican. =( But then yesterday, we ate lunch at this restaurant called Pepe's, which we knew were for Americans because the signs were in English. So we went in, and we saw all the people were Americans.. Well, almost all the cars were from California, except one was from Nevada. Close enough. It was refreshing to see other people from the US.. struggling like we were trying to communicate.. haha. Only my brother knows a bit of Spanish.. but that's alllllll..

We slept at a nice hotel though.. we each got our OWN beds. Isn't that so nice? My parents shared a room, and my brother and I shared a room. We watched a movie on TV (in English, with Spanish subtitles).. I'm not sure what its called. But I just remembered that "Siren" by Tori Amos was playing in it ;D It has Gwyneth Paltrow in it.. she was this emotionless mysterious beautiful girl who's impossible and blah blah.

We left Mexico at around 11am today.. isn't it amazing? This morning, I was at Mexico, and now I am home.. my sweet home ;D So anyway.. we stopped at LA again to eat "lunch" (even if it was 3pm) and then I drooove for nearly 100 miles again. I realized that I get dizzy from driving. I can't last more than an hour and a half. I hate just watching the road winding ahead of me. And I can't just stop looking at the road or I'll crash.

I drove the countryside road really really FAST. The average was 80 miles per hour. Yeah, you might think it's illegal, but I'm just following the traffic, I swear. In fact, people were still PASSING me. 80mph was still TOO slow.. can you believe it? So I almost drove up to 90 miles per hour.. but how can I be breaking the law when I'm just following the traffic? And yet, other cars were still either passing me or tailgating.. it's scary. People were passing by and staring at me like I'm crazy for driving so slow. Are they crazy? They probably went 100mph.. gosh.

Anyway. We finally made it home BEfore 9pm... amazing, huh? That's the result of us going in an average of 80mph in the countryside and stuff. Hmm, we passed two state prisons.. and for some reason, only I saw... haha. Okay, thats all I want to say for now... *yawns* Je suis fatiguee.. je veux m'endomir..

previous & next

from yawen.