any where you want.

indexarchivesnotesprofileringsdesigndiaryland


philosophies in several words
(2001-01-16) 01:44:51

I am getting ready. I know this next three days is going to be over soon.. its not even the usual 5 day week. But nevertheless, its still the future now, and I am going to be ready to attack.

Tommorow I am going to be thinking what the hell I am thinking right now, by not studying. But all day, I had been in and out of studying for world literature, my first final tommorow morning. Besides that, I've been messing around with email infobots and such... so I have new scripts.. like the forum and my form mail. Now I have autoresponders for [email protected] *and* also, you can put anything in front of @comatised.com and I'd recieve it... so you can put [email protected] and I could recieve it. I also found out how to use Server Side Includes.. and those options.. its all a complete package I won from the December webhosting thing from YouthofAmerica.. so I might as well use it..

Okay.. so who knows about Janism? Who ever even heard of it? Just a random thought.. Im just studying a few selected foreign philosophies and religions for the final..including Janism..which is similar to Hinduism and Buddhism.. I actually like Epicureans because they're quite the opposite of what the other religions are aiming for.. Anyway.so its basically Greek philosophers (Socrates, Plato, etc), then Asian philosophies (Confucianism, Buddhism, Janism, etc), then of course the religion bit (Christianity, etc). I almost wish I AM religious.. life probably would be so much easier if I follow something.. like the noble truths of Buddhism (which is kind of repetitive, with suffering vs. desire but thats okay..) or just believe in God.

Here is a strange thing. My mother's mom was Buddhist, while my dad's mom was Christian.. so I've been to a Buddhist temple (when I was around 4..) AND a Christian church (when I was around 7).. I only remember the buddhist temple because of the burning papers, and fruits that were placed in a bowl. I remembered that I wore the buddhist bead bracelet things (that was popular here a while ago..) Then later, I carried a BIBLE. (Hmm, I think I still have that bible here somewhere in my room.. under my bed..) Strange?

All these philosophies have something in common.. searching for 'truth'.. whats really 'right'. Even the ancient Greek.. with Socrates, who uses 'logic and reason.' But my favorite is the idea of karma.. maybe thats why Im at this stage where I am being so good. Okay, I know that sounds pathetic, but right now, Im being extremely truthful/good to others.. but I dont think that helps so much because Im not to myself. Because its just me against myself.. not me against other people. What exactly is a virtue.. how many times is THAT mentioned in these philosophies? Like in Confucianism, there is the five basic virtues. It tells of what you have TO BE in order to achieve the 'truths' Oh, I would know about this since I *did* do research on the philosophy.. they all add up to be the same anyway.

Before I destroy my mind anymore, Im going to go off and immerse myself into more studies. This year, Im actually going to be prepared. Maybe.

previous & next

from yawen.