any where you want.

indexarchivesnotesprofileringsdesigndiaryland


music sounds revived
(2000-11-24) 19:41:16

Happy late Thanksgiving... happy very EARLY Christmas.

I started rummaging through my CDs when the first Christmas song comes up on the radio. It instantly reminded me of last year... and my obsession with 98degrees, "This gift." I knew I just had to hear it again, so I put it on, singing my heart out. I started crying by the time the second song starts because by then I remembered all the happiness I've missed.

I realized I didnt have much compact discs.. because back then (3 or 4 years ago) $10 was a lot to me, and I could not waste the little money I had on one thing that costs more than $10. My first CD was Backstreet Boys... who I ironically hate right now since I happen to find them annoying and talentless. Their current song is sweet though.. Anyway.. heres a list of CDs that I still find in my CD player sometimes... CDs that I dont regret buying since I do listen to it more than 5 months after I buy it.

Savage Garden. I would never get tired of their music. Its the first CD that I was so obsessed with that I had to hear the CD 24/7. It got me through so many confusion that it not only holds numerous memories... but I also love the sound. From "To the moon and back" to "Santa Monica".. I loved ALL the songs... especially "Universe" and "Truly Madly Deeply" (even after its overplayed by radios!)

Garbage. In my crazy moods, they are the PERFECT sounds to listen to and jump around dancing to. I first heard it when I went to Taiwan and my cousin said she loved the CD even if its American... its strange that my chinese cousin introduced me to this American group.. but oh well, if she hadnt, I would have never heard this.

98 degrees. I have 3 of the 4 CDs they have. (I just dont have their newest) I love their voices... their harmonies.. I think they really have a talent for singing. When I get depressed, I just listen to their sweet voices and instantly melt and forget.. really effective when I'm sleepy.

Divine. Ok, so I dont listen to it that much, but I love the style of their music. Its R&B, but it has a spiritual edge that I have never heard before. Its so peaceful that I instantly feel at ease.. and its just perfect when I'm stressful. "Lately" is by far my most favorite song... and "Sweet Essence".

Tori Amos. Its a bit more recent.. but I didnt realize I cant live without her music until now. I think everyone who loves her music knows what I'm talking about. I cant describe the style of her music.. because she has a style of her own. Its a classic since now people call this style credited to her name, like when describing a new female singer (like Leona Naess), they would say 'She has an edge like Tori Amos..' So you know its pretty original.. and Im completely obsessed by listening to it so much.

No Doubt. Another with a style of its own.. I can listen to them all day since it satisfies every single mood I have. Recently.. their music have swayed from style to style.. but I totally love "Simple Kind of Life" which is a bit different than the music they usually do. I still love their classics like "Just a Girl".. and my favorite, "Don't Speak."

Leona Naess. This is actually really recent.. but I love it so much now, I'm sure I'm going to listen to it more than this. Its pop, but then its guitar-ish and so happy that it cheers me up everytime I listen to it.. so when I'm down, I can listen to it and be happy. Its perfect when I need more energy and when I just woke up.

Ok, thats my list.. notice its not that long. Unfortunately, there are a lot of CDs I regret buying, but its alright for the time being then. Music is my life...

previous & next

from yawen.