any where you want.

indexarchivesnotesprofileringsdesigndiaryland


cold snowy skiing things
(2000-12-29) 01:01:53

When you see a few missing entries along some days, you know I was gone. It wasnt what I had in mind.. but nevertheless, I was away for 2 and a half days skiing at Lake Tahoe.

Here's a little history. Almost every year we go to Lake Tahoe at least once. We've been to the lake so many times that we've stopped at almost every single rest stop (well, mainly McDonald's) there is. Every single time, we'd pass Sacramento.. where we went 5 days ago. We'd almost always go with the same two other families. This time though, one of the families invited another family, so there's four families. This time, I counted that there was five boys (including my brother) and three girls (including me) Usually, the numbers would be even, but the new family had two sons... one is 15, Eric (like me) and another is 12, Jason. They go to Bellerman (dont really know how to spell it), an all-boys private school... which is umm, interesting. Jason has a bit of an attitude problem.. well, maybe all 12 year old boys do? But Eric is really quiet and shy.. deja vu?

We rented a little house near Lake Tahoe.. it had five rooms, and two bathrooms. It was a bit old, but cozy. I was just glad I got my own little bed to sleep in. It had a five CD disc player.. a whole stereo set thing.. I put all four of my CDs in... which I had only originally brought for the car. One of the guys put in his Vertical Horizon CD.. so that was our music entertainment. There wasnt much to do around the house... mainly, I just talked. It was too awkward to join the boys (probably because of my brother.. who really hangs out with their brothers?), so I just stayed with this 12 year old girl, who was the oldest girl besides me. It was strange because I realized that I played different roles around different people. Im used to being around older people.. and Im usually really really shy. Then, around my school friends, I feel really insecure and spill all of my problems and things.. With younger people, I feel like a leader.. always trying to point a direction in something.. Strange.

We skied at Heavenly the next day. It was the biggest skiing resort we've ever been to, but apparently, the new family (Eric,Jason) had been there before. It was easy to get lost, so no one could go off alone. I usually ski alone, but now that I think of it, I realized how stupid that was. Last time I remember, I was stuck on top of a hill where no one else could be seen. I was freaked by the steep hills, so I got off my skis and walked. I didnt think it was that dangerous then.. This time, I was freaked because I saw the bodies.. err, people on the sleds being carried.. by first aid people at Heavenly. I kept telling myself that noo, they're not dead. Hopefully they're not.. but I was so freaked out that I could NOT get the image of the people all tied and mostly covered out of my head. Anyway. So for the first half, (before lunch) I skied with the girl (Daiz) and her dad.. then after that, we followed Eric and this other guy up to the top of the mountain. (with the blue squares, which was intermediate. I usually just ski the easiest.. but it was a change) The path had a beautiful view of almost the entire lake. It was just upfront, and I could even see some boats and things on the reflective lake. We were that high up. The slopes werent that steep.. but I was nervous because of the really loosely powdered snow (which is hard for me to ski in because its unbalanced). I kept turning (for braking) and in the end, my legs were so tired that I had to stop periodically because it was so sore.

So that was our day..I ended up wet and cold, because I fell twice. Once because I tripped over a person's snowboard.. and another time when I accidently crossed my skis because of a powdery snowy bumpy terrain. It was strange because I *never* had fallen after getting up the ski lift with the steep hill.. even after both Daiz and her dad pushed into me (and both fell). The girl fell twice because of it. Laalaaa.. Im so in love with snow. Though its strangely dangerous and gives me frostbites, I love the coldness for some reason. I even took a walk all the way around the cabin.. prodding through the deep snow where the blanket of snow was so flat and clean. Of course my dad loved it because he loved showing off his 4-runner and how it could climb on the snow and ice. Hahaa.. that was the reason he bought the car.. just for these skiing trips. Last time I remember how we were stuck in a blizzard.. yeah, that was when we could *really* test out the car. Oh, why cant it snow HERE?

We spent the rest of the day in the house.. it was quite boring. Both my parents and Daiz's parents went to Nevada (well, it was close) to gamble. My dad's like, okay, we came all the way over here, we *have* to gamble. So they went.. leaving all the children with the other parents and Eric's mother. Im not sure if they won any money but Im sure they didnt because they would say that they had if they did win, right? So at night, we (the girls) ended up raiding the boy's territory (actually I, more or less, did) in the living room (which they were in ALL the time) to watch Misson Impossible 2.. which I had already watched before.. (once with my friend in the summer, actually in a movie theater, and another time with my cousins on DVD) I had to watch again because Im just totally intrigued by the guy's accent. I think he's so hot (just because of the accent, haha.. and the resemblance to someone).

Laalaa.. I kept wondering if the boys know Im there. They never talk to me, but I did overhear that guy, whos one of my brother's best friends and Daiz's brother, say something about me. Hes one of those people who we all know FOREVER.. so familier yet I really know NOTHING about him. So is the other guy, Chay (by the way, Im just abbreviating their names.. its NOT their real names) who we all know for at least 5 years. I remember how we all used to play together (when we were young) and one day I said to him, "Eww.. I hate you!" But then, remember.. I was young..But now, I dont even say a word to him. He's the brother of Char, one of the younger girls. I told Daiz that those guys bother me. Daiz told me that they're strange because they never talk about girls and such. (I think that included my brother) I thought.. okaaay.. they're complete opposites of Calvin/Matt/Frank. Maybe thats what bothered me? What DO they talk about anyway?

It doesnt matter.. blaaaaah. Im tired from typing all this already. Its *only* been an hour (haha) Im still a little scared that one of the guys are going to find this diary and read it.. but oh well, they dont even know me at all. I hardly ever see them around anyway. They're so... umm my brother-type guys.. like guys that are like my brother. So Im just bored with them. So its funny.. either he's bored, or Im bored. Ohh well, at least one of us are satisfied. At one point, I felt like getting out of the car and running beside the car in the cold. Its better than sitting inside and rotting beside everyone else. *sigh*

previous & next

from yawen.