any where you want.

indexarchivesnotesprofileringsdesigndiaryland


eves of eve of Christmas
(2000-12-25) 19:53:34

Im finally back. (After 2 days' absence.. but anyway.) Missed me? :)

Lets see.. I learned about guys, old buildings, movies, and cartoons.

We didnt have any great plans, so my parents decided on day that we're going on a trip to Sacramento, California's state capitol. We had passed the city numerous times on the way to Lake Tahoe.. but had never actually been in the city. There wasnt much to see but we tried to see any possible tourist attraction there is. That included Sutter's Fort, Sacramento Port, "Old Sacramento", Fairytale Town, and of course the capitol house. Here's the analysis:

Sutter's Fort: It was a fort.. enclosed by 4 walls that surrounded almost like a tiny city.. it had everything in there. Houses.. kitchens, doctor's office, a tiny barn, and things. When we arrived, it was 4:50pm. The women at the gate said that we had 10 minutes to see everything before it closed. So we walked through quite quickly, and hurried out right when it was 5pm.

Sacramento Port: There really wasnt anything to see.. but I mentioned this place because it reminded me of those ports you see in movies.. that same place used for fighting scenes and such.. Like in "Gone in 60 seconds" when the cars were chasing each other, they raced through a port such as this. So you can imagine what this port looks like..

Old Sacramento: Well, its just *old* Sacramento.. its where the city had started.. and nothing really had changed since then except the stores. The street are still made of those cobble stone things (or whatever its called.. its big and chunky) and the buildings were old fashioned and old railroad stations still stood.

Fairytale Town: None of us really wanted to go because its really just for younger kids.. but my dad insisted to go because he wanted to look around. Its basically fairytale characters, buildings, and everything else you find in fairytales. I might have find this fun.. if I was 6 or something. We just walked through and my dad was surprised that the crooked gingerbread house was actually the bathroom. Okay..well, we left after around 10 minutes.

Capitol house: We were surprised that the Christmas tree wasnt lighted up.. and the fountain water wasnt even working. Only the Hannukah lights were on (with one light broken) We're like okaaay.. its CHRISTMAS, and they're conserving electricity on this day? We took a tour of the house.. and it just looked the same as the capitol house in DC... well, at least to me anyway. Of course, I wasnt really paying attention when I was in DC.. Anyway.. its uhh, interesting? The senate all had laptops on their desks, and they had electronic voting now.

Okay that was my short little trip to the capitol of California. After 10 years of living here, its strange that it was my first time there.. especially since its only two hours away. Anyway.

We got back around 3 or 4 yesterday.. and then we had to go to a Christmas party thing. Its at the same house as the house we went to at the time when we went to the Thanksgiving party. The two boys were still there.. but the girl wasnt.. shes on a vacation somewhere. That wasnt all.. more relatives/friends.. (of them, not us..) came.. and it turned out that all the families only had sons. So I was left as the only girl. Im stupid.. I *still* dont know one of the guys' names.. ooh, well, that doesnt matter much now, does it?

Okay. Well, I went with the guy with the name I dont know to pick up his brother Matt (yay, I know his name) at Macy's where he works. He looks uhh, different. Shorter? (haha.. he's, actually *both* of them are about the same height as me.. and Im short.) Its strange because before I asked him, "Where does your brother work?" And hes like, "My little bro? Ohh.. Macy's" When he said "my little bro", it sounded like his brother was so small. But then, he's *still* older than me.. he's 17. But then, that guy is 23? or 24? He looks yoooooung though. So in the car hes just entertaining me with his stories about the time he went to Tijuana and partied and got drunk and how he had the best time. I had to remind myself that he's legal.. not just some rebellious teenager. The boys are so funny though. They make fun of each other constantly.. I dont even think of them as separate people.. its like they're ONE person combined..

Later, we watched a bunch of old recorded movies. There wasnt much to do in the end.. and by that time, it was already 10pm. Matt suggested to go out and watch a movie. My parents said I could go with them but I didnt know if I wanted to. So the guy says, "Okay, so you know in the end, you would say yes, because you know you want to.." (something like that.. If I could talk like him, I could convince anyone anything!) So Im like.."Okay... no." Haha.. but in the end I still went because I really had nothing else to do. This other person, Frank went too. Hes also 17, like Matt and hes classmates with my cousin, Rosa at Cupertino High. I really dont know whats his relation with the guys but I didnt feel like asking. So thats the story of how I managed to get myself stuck in a car with three other guys that I barely know. I have never been out to the movies that late anyway.. much less than three guys.

We drove around what seemed like *forever* because I think I felt uncomfortable. Okay, I *was* uncomfortable for a couple of reasons. I think I have been in the womens world for too long or something.. because I felt like screaming in the car. I know now what guys talk about when girls arent around. Well? Of course, girls. Ooh, yeah, she's cute. Ooh, she's fiiine. Eww, she's UGLY! Do you like her? Things like that. I wondered then if they knew I was in the car. All of a sudden, they wanted to change the subject so they ALL turn to me. He said, "So, tell me YOUR story. We already told OUR stories." Im like.. uhh, I dont have any stories. Then I forgot who said (either Matt or his brother) "Ohh, sooo, do you have any crushes, any one you LIKE?" I was half laughing because they sounded so much like my girl friends waiting to dish out gossip or something. But they seemed so interested and they're all leaning in to hear. Haha. Frank mumbled some name of a guy who he thinks that every girl likes, and Matt's brother said, "Wait, WHAT did you say? Did you say, [who do you like] besides me?" Hahaa.. and Matt's like, "Hey, Im better looking than you!" I wondered how could I ever be crazy enough to go with them.

We didnt go to the movie anyway since the tickets were basically sold out and there wasnt much to see anyway. I felt like a little tag-along, just following them around. I felt like a little sister with everyone hovering over me. Matt's like tickling me at some point, and the boys were all making me laugh. We went back and I was almost glad because the boys were a bit.. much.. to stand. So Frank started watching another movie while Im just walking around. I finally went upstairs to where Matt and his brother was and watched this funny cartoon thing. Matt slapped me this Tommy Hilfiger slap bracelet thing.. you know those that were popular like 7 or 8 years ago? (yes, I *still* remember clearly..) I dont like Tommy Hilfiger but I was too occupied to care (I was watching something) Later, I realized that I walked out of the house with the bracelet.. I wasnt sure if he *intended* to give it to me or not. For some reason, I had the feeling that he was around.. but then I realized, that in fact, he wasnt; it was because the bracelet was dipped in the cologne that he was wearing. So I took it off, and Im like.. aahhh, I smell soo.. MASCULINE! What was he trying to do.. not letting me forget him?

Okay.. lala, so we got home at around 12am.. gosh. I was so tired but sleep didnt come until maybe 2 hours later? Blah. So youthofamerica.org still didnt contact me. :( Well, I finally ordered those CDs I wanted for myself. I ordered Wallflowers and Nine Days. It costs so much but ohhh well, I want to spoil myself.

Anyway. MERRY CHRISTMAS!

previous & next

from yawen.