any where you want.

indexarchivesnotesprofileringsdesigndiaryland


once upon some old times
(2001-03-15) 23:40:18

Once upon a time. What does that mean anyway? What time are we upon and where do I belong? - "Witch Baby" by Francesca Lia Block. (Book in progress)

The book.. is magical. Is there any other way to describe it? It reminds me of my friend's sparkling fantasy stories. She was the one that introduced me to the author in the first place. (I want to write like her.) It's realistic.. and yet, its setting is placed in a magical world of half-reality. This book in particular is about a young girl on a journey to discover who she really is.. and where she really belongs.

I got my first A on an essay today.. (This year in Lit) The strange thing is that its the ONLY essay that's in-class, not those assignments ones. It was a reflective essay.. and I wasn't surprised that I do better on those than interpretive or argumentative ones. See.. being a bit pompous and self-absorbing does work. All I did was talk about myself a lot and how it relates to an universal idea and I am there!

And you know what I wrote about? Crayons. Don't laugh, it's true. I couldn't think of other personal experiences, so I wrote about the lonely crayons and me at age four. My topic was Morals. I recalled that time so clearly.. that image of me when I was four and how I loved to color with my crayons. Anyway.. I won't get into that :)

The teacher commented that the personal experience could use a bit more emphasis (haha.. just crayons aren't enough??) but overall it's GOOD. Whooohoo. I don't even have to rewrite it :) My friend was telling me that I got a really high score because all the people she asked got lower than me. Umm. Okay... hmm. I read hers and it was sOOOOO good. While mine is so simple, hers is so deep and thoughtful. I wonder how the teacher grades it?

This writing essay craze is for that writing proficiency exam that we are going to take. And if we don't pass it, we don't graduate from high school. Simple as that. We first take it as sophomores, then juniors and seniors if we don't pass. There are currently around 17 seniors that are in danger of not graduating because they didn't pass this. So I am in a frenzy trying to perfect my essay writing skills.

Thats why I joined the Survivor thing. I want to see how much I can write. And its only for fun. I have other diaries (such as this) to write about anything I like. And writing's become a daily thing. I can't go on one day without writing in one of these online diaries or my book diary. It's become so automatic, that I just HAVE to write. And if I can't even write an essay.. that's just sad.

I think the progress reports are coming tommorow. Hmm. I know I don't have great grades, but at least I have an A in French 3 and Chemistry Honors.

That reminds me.. we have to register for next year's classes. And that counselor person was like describing some classes. She said that the difference between regular Chemistry and Chemistry Honors are really HUGE. (She spread her arms out to show us) Then the difference between Physics and Physics Honors was kind of small. Then again, the difference between US History and AP US History was HUGE. Ha. I still don't know whats so hard about Chemistry Honors. I only got a B- last semester because I *blushes* sort of slept in class. I was tired, okay? And anything Chemistry can't be that easy.. so what's so easy about regular Chemistry?

I don't think I'm going to continue the study of French next year. I don't know ANYTHING. Okay. So I got an A, but thats because I did all my homework and studied for tests.. doesn't mean my comprehension level is any higher. I can barely speak two sentences in French. Bonjour, Je m'appelle.. And then. Comment vas-tu? Je ne sais pas. Je t'aime!!! Those oh-so-popular phrases. And. I am in the third year of French!

I've decided to take that creative writing magazine class though. Because I love creative writing.. you could probably tell. I like poems.. or just random weird things, ha. And maybe Law. Or psychology.. just for fun. I want to be able to enjoy my classes.. I already have a not so decent GPA.

previous & next

from yawen.